SCFHS and Mumaris Plus: The Saudi Licensing Pathway, and the Annex That Decides Your Title (2026)

Licensing Operations · Saudi Arabia

A UK CCT reaches Consultant in three years.
A German Facharzt takes five, and an exam.

The SCFHS classification ladder, the annexed certificate groups that determine which rung you land on, the Prometric exemptions, the published fees, and two claims circulating in the recruitment market that are simply wrong.

Reviewed August 2026. Drawn from the SCFHS Executive Rules of the General Bylaw for Professional Classification and Registration, the official SCFHS fee schedule, and the SMLE and SNLE applicant guides. A closing section states what we could not verify — including one open question that could affect the whole of Section 2.

Classification is not registration — and the difference decides your timing

Saudi Arabia runs two separate processes that candidates routinely collapse into one, and getting them the wrong way round costs months.

  • Professional classification establishes what you are — Consultant, Senior Registrar, Nurse Specialist, Physiotherapy Specialist. SCFHS calls it “the first legal step before registering as a healthcare practitioner.” It is portable, and it can be obtained before you have an offer.
  • Professional registration is the licence to practise. It is employer-bound: the mandatory document is a letter of employment identification, issued within the previous three months by the facility, proving clinical practice in your specialty. It also requires a National ID or iqama — so your residence permit sits between classification and registration.

The practical consequence: a UK & European-trained clinician can and should complete classification while still at home, before an offer exists. A candidate who arrives at the negotiating table already classified as Consultant is negotiating from a different position entirely — and has removed the longest item from the employer’s critical path.

The pathway, in order

Stage What it is Published SLA
1. Mumaris Plus account All applications run through portal.scfhs.org.sa; payment via SADAD —
2. Qualification study Only if your qualification is not already listed in Mumaris+. Classification cannot be submitted until this closes — and most applicants discover it only when blocked —
3. DataFlow PSV A precondition of classification, not a parallel task. The final authentication report must be attached to the classification application 25 working days standard, 14 express
4. Professional classification Direct decision, practical evaluation, or written exam — determined by your certificate group 7 working days direct · 30 with electronic exam · 35 with practical evaluation
5. Eligibility number Issued after classification approval and a positive DataFlow report. Unlocks Prometric booking Exam eligibility service: 5 business days, SAR 120
6. Prometric examination Where required by group. 11 test windows a year; cannot be booked more than three months ahead Results 2–6 weeks after window close; 14 workdays to Mumaris+
7. Professional registration Requires the employment letter and iqama 5 business days

The annexes — the single most consequential thing in Saudi licensing

SCFHS does not treat all international qualifications alike. Its Executive Rules classify specialist certificates into three annexed groups, by country and by named certificate, and the group you fall into determines your title, your exam obligation and how many years you wait for Consultant.

Group 1 — Annex 1

United States ABMS board certification · United Kingdom CCT / CCST · Canada RCPSC and CFPC · Ireland CSCST · Australia FRAC-family fellowships · France DES / DESC · Saudi Board

Senior Registrar immediately, no exam. Consultant at three years, no evaluation committee.

Group 2 — Annex 2

Germany (Facharzt) · Netherlands · Switzerland · Sweden · Austria · Belgium · Denmark · Norway · Spain · Italy · Portugal · Greece · Poland · Czech Republic · Finland · Hungary · Japan · South Korea · Hong Kong · India · Pakistan · Arab Board · South Africa (CMSA fellowships) — among others

Written exam required for Senior Registrar. Consultant only at five years, and only after passing an evaluation committee.

Group 3 covers lower-tier certificates and caps the holder at Registrar following a written exam or interview.

Two market claims that are wrong

Corrections

New Zealand is not in Annex 1. A great deal of recruitment copy — including, until this review, some of our own sector’s standard material — asserts that “UK, USA, Canada, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand” are exempt. New Zealand does not appear in the Group 1 annex as published. We are not publishing it as exempt, and no candidate should plan on the basis that it is.

South Africa is Group 2, not a top tier. HPCSA registrants holding CMSA fellowships take the five-year, evaluation-committee route to Consultant. South African clinicians are among the most actively recruited in the Gulf, and this is not a reflection on the training — it is simply what the annex says.

The group attaches to the certificate, not the passport. A British doctor holding a German Facharzt is Group 2. A German national holding a UK CCT is Group 1.

The classification ladders

Physicians

Title Requirement Exam
General Practitioner MBBS or equivalent; 1 year for non-Saudis SMLE
Registrar / Specialist Group 3 certificate + 2 years Written test or committee
Senior Registrar Group 1 or Group 2 certificate, no additional years Group 1: none. Group 2: written exam
Consultant Group 1 + 3 years post-certificate · Group 2 + 5 years Group 1: no professional evaluation. Group 2: evaluation committee

Nurses

Title Requirement Exam
Nurse Technician Two- to three-year post-secondary nursing diploma Written
Nurse Specialist BSc Nursing; 1 year for non-Saudis SNLE
Senior Nurse Specialist Master’s in nursing + 2 years Committee evaluation
Nurse Consultant PhD or equivalent + 3 years in specialty after senior classification Committee evaluation

There is no advanced practice tier. SCFHS’s own Scope of Nursing and Midwifery Practice states that expanded scope and advanced practice roles for nurses and midwives are “yet to be established.” There is no Nurse Practitioner title in Saudi Arabia and no nurse prescribing — a material difference from Abu Dhabi and Qatar, both of which recognise Nurse Practitioners with prescribing rights. A senior APRN from the United States or an Advanced Nurse Practitioner from the United Kingdom will be classified against the degree ladder above, not against their practice scope at home.

Physiotherapists

Title Requirement Assessment
Technician Two-year-plus post-secondary diploma; 1 year for non-Saudis Written exam
Specialist Bachelor’s in Physical Therapy; 1 year for non-Saudis Written exam
Senior Specialist Master’s in the specialty + 2 years post-Master’s Interview / committee
Consultant Doctorate in the specialty + 3 years Committee interview

The physiotherapy ladder is degree-driven, not board-driven. A UK or US physiotherapist without a Master’s cannot exceed Specialist regardless of clinical seniority, reputation or years in post. That is worth knowing before a title is negotiated into a contract that cannot be honoured.

The Prometric examinations

SMLE (medicine) SNLE (nursing)
Format 200 MCQs, two blocks of 100 200 MCQs, two blocks of 100
Timing 120 minutes per block, 30-minute break 120 minutes per block, 30-minute break
Pass score 560 on a 200–800 scale 500 on a 200–800 scale
Attempts Up to four per year until passing Up to four per year until passing
Results 2–6 weeks after the test window closes; posted to Mumaris+ within 14 workdays

For classification and promotion exams the regulation sets tighter limits: a non-Saudi applying from outside the Kingdom has a maximum of three written attempts within one year, then two further attempts after a six-month interval, then final rejection of the registration application. Cheating carries a one-year ban on first offence and permanent rejection on repeat.

Exam results are valid for five years and may be used for classification once only. Rescheduling within 30 days of the test date attracts a USD 50 fee; cancelling within 15 days forfeits the test fee entirely.

Fees

From the official SCFHS fee schedule. The structure is a flat SAR 200 component plus a service fee plus a registration fee.

Category Total (SAR) ≈ £
Physician — Consultant 2,300 £454
Physician — Senior Registrar 1,900 £375
Physician — Registrar 1,900 £375
Physician — General Practitioner / Resident 1,420 £280
Nurse Specialist 1,340 £264
Nurse Technician 760 £150
Reclassification / upgrade 300–600 £59–118
Licensure exam eligibility service 120 £24
Professional certificate recognition 600 £118
Late renewal (beyond 3 months past expiry) 150 £30

Sterling at £1 ≈ SAR 5.07, August 2026. Add DataFlow PSV separately — SAR 500–600 for a standard package.

Refunds: 50% of the service fee is refundable if cancelled within one month of payment and before attending a professional assessment. Administrative fees are never refundable. Applications left incomplete for 30 days are non-refundable.

Renewal and CPD

  • Professional registration is valid for two years. The renewal window opens three months before expiry.
  • CPD hours per renewal cycle, by category: Technicians 20 · Specialists 40 · Pharmacists 40 · Doctors 60. The category, not the specialty, sets the requirement.
  • Hours are tracked through Mumaris+ and Mustamir.
  • The relief mechanism: if your hours are incomplete you may renew for one year only — and this option is available once, at the renewal date. Use it deliberately, not by accident.
  • Practitioners inactive for two consecutive years must renew before resuming practice, and a break of more than two years triggers scrutiny at classification.

Why files stall

  • The qualification is not listed in Mumaris+, requiring a separate qualification-study application that most applicants do not know exists until they are blocked
  • The DataFlow report is not attached — classification cannot proceed without it
  • The employment letter fails the specificity test. SCFHS requires it to prove clinical practice in the field of specialisation, state the professional category and the start date, and be issued within the previous three months. A generic HR confirmation is rejected
  • Qualification documents missing the date of issuance, date of graduation, certificate title or specialisation
  • Non-Saudis with under one year of post-qualification experience are ineligible at Specialist entry
  • Missing or expired home-country registration certificate, or missing verification letter
  • Exam attempts exhausted — which ends in final rejection, not a pause
  • An exam result older than five years, or already consumed for a prior classification

What we could not verify

The most important open question: whether the 2024 SCFHS membership regulations amend the classification ladder or the Annex 1/2/3 certificate groups. The governing document we have relied on is the Executive Rules as published, still the live regulation link at the time of review. If the annexes have been revised, Section 2 of this guide moves. We check the annex position for every Saudi mandate we run, and we would advise any clinician to have it confirmed against their specific certificate before signing a contract that names a title.

Physiotherapy fee rows are not isolable from the published schedule, which is organised by faculty rather than by named allied profession. Nursing fee rows above Specialist and Technician could not be read reliably. Physician rows reconciled consistently and are sound.

Official Prometric and DataFlow SCFHS prices are not published by either organisation. VAT treatment of SCFHS fees is not stated. No official SCFHS expedited or premium processing tier exists that we could find — every “fast-track” offer in the market refers to DataFlow express or to agency handling, not to an SCFHS service level.

Whether the SNLE applies to expatriate nurses or whether internationally trained nurses sit a separate classification exam is not stated in the applicant guide. Confirm per candidate.

How we run a Saudi file

Classify first. Negotiate second.

The single highest-value thing we do on a Saudi mandate is establish the annex position early — because it determines whether the pathway runs on the seven-working-day direct-decision track or adds an exam window and an evaluation committee. That fork is worth more elapsed time than any expediting service anyone can sell you.

If you hold a European specialist qualification and have been told you are exempt, that is worth checking before you plan around it. Speak with us confidentially — no application, no obligation, and nothing shared with any employer without your explicit instruction.

Questions we are asked

Can I start SCFHS classification before I have a job offer in Saudi Arabia?

Yes. SCFHS runs classification and registration as two separate processes. Classification establishes what you are — Consultant, Senior Registrar, Nurse Specialist, Physiotherapy Specialist — and SCFHS calls it the first legal step before registering as a healthcare practitioner. It is portable and can be completed before an offer exists. Registration is the employer-bound licence to practise: it requires a letter of employment identification issued within the previous three months, plus a National ID or iqama.

How long does SCFHS classification take?

SCFHS publishes 7 working days for a direct classification decision, 30 working days where an electronic exam is required and 35 where a practical evaluation applies. DataFlow primary source verification is a precondition, at 25 working days standard or 14 express. The eligibility number that unlocks Prometric booking takes 5 business days. Exam results follow 2–6 weeks after the window closes and reach Mumaris+ within 14 workdays. Registration itself takes 5 business days.

Does a UK CCT holder need to sit an exam, and when can they be classified as Consultant?

UK CCT / CCST sits in Group 1 (Annex 1), alongside United States ABMS board certification, Canadian RCPSC and CFPC, Irish CSCST, Australian FRAC-family fellowships, French DES / DESC and the Saudi Board. Group 1 holders are classified Senior Registrar immediately with no exam, and reach Consultant at three years post-certificate with no evaluation committee. Group 2 — the German Facharzt among others — requires a written exam and reaches Consultant only at five years, after an evaluation committee.

How much do SCFHS classification fees cost?

The published schedule lists SAR 2,300 (£454) for Physician — Consultant, SAR 1,900 (£375) for Senior Registrar and for Registrar, and SAR 1,420 (£280) for General Practitioner / Resident. Nurse Specialist is SAR 1,340 (£264) and Nurse Technician SAR 760 (£150). Reclassification or upgrade runs SAR 300–600 and the licensure exam eligibility service SAR 120. DataFlow is separate, at SAR 500–600 for a standard package. Sterling at £1 ≈ SAR 5.07, August 2026.

How are nurses and physiotherapists classified by SCFHS?

Both ladders are degree-driven. Nursing runs Nurse Technician, Nurse Specialist (BSc Nursing, 1 year for non-Saudis), Senior Nurse Specialist (Master’s plus 2 years) and Nurse Consultant (PhD or equivalent plus 3 years). There is no advanced practice tier — no Nurse Practitioner title and no nurse prescribing, unlike Abu Dhabi and Qatar. Physiotherapy Specialist requires a Bachelor’s, Senior Specialist a Master’s plus 2 years, and Consultant a doctorate plus 3 years.

Related reading

This guide is provided for information and does not constitute legal or immigration advice. SCFHS regulations, fees and annexes change. Confirm current requirements with SCFHS before making a decision that depends on them.

Scroll to Top